What's the harm in one more?

What's the harm in one more?

Pre-September 13th 2021:

let bloggingAccountsIveOpenedOverTheYears = ['Xanga', 'Livejournal', 'Blogger', 'Wordpress', 'Medium', 'Substack']

Post-September 13th 2021:

bloggingAccountsIveOpenedOverTheYears.push('Hashnode')

I know that's not necessarily complicated code, but hey: it shows I'm learning something in my bootcamp, right?


A week ago, I announced on my Substack I was taking a step away from the newsletter for the foreseeable future. I had been writing on there for several months and managed to cultivate a decently sized reader-base, especially for not using social media to promote my writing. However, after I committed to Springboard's software engineering prep class, in order to fast-track into their 8-month bootcamp, it became clear I needed to cut some things out of my life.

My Substack newsletter ended up being the first to head to the chopping block.

This isn't to say I didn't enjoy my writing there. In fact, for the first time in my life, I found a subject I was not only interested in writing about, but also something that people actually wanted to read. This doesn't mean my writing was necessarily novel. Countless thinkers have touched on the effects technological progress has had on society and people as a whole, whether that's Jacques Ellul, Ivan Illich, Marshall McLuhan, Neil Postman, Albert Borgmann, or, more recently, Nicholas Carr, Sherry Turkle, and Adam Alter. However, my focus was largely on what these devices and tools do to us as people in regards to how we interact and treat one another. (Which, if we can be honest, shouldn't be a surprise in light of the past 18 months.)

That said, something I've been seeing everywhere I turn is the importance of writing when it comes to software engineering, especially in the context of technical writing. To be fair, I'm not confident enough to do anything in that regard. I'm just now learning about arrays and objects (JavaScript). I do know how to write, however, and I know how to build relationships with others and, maybe even in this context, offer advice and encouragement.

I have no idea what will come from this blog/account. Maybe nothing, maybe something substantial. But as I continue to do these classes (and find myself falling in love with JavaScript, something I was not expecting), I'm hoping I can find something to bring over to this website that'll prove worthwhile to others. And if not? Well, at least I'll keep my mind active and engaged. That alone is worth the endeavor.


Some random facts about me:

  • When I was a wee lad, someone approached my mom about having me audition to replace Macaulay Culkin in Home Alone 3. Clearly, I turned it down, and I think it's safe to say I dodged a bullet.

  • I've been a metal vocalist for nearly twenty years. I don't do much with it anymore, but from 2009-2011, I toured with a band that ended up signing to one of my favorite record labels. To say it was a dream come true is...well, maybe it's an overstatement, but I am still humbled to this day. (They also got a lot better after I left, which I'm not ashamed to admit.)

  • When I transition into coding full-time, I'll be leaving the automotive industry; specifically, sales. It cannot happen soon enough.

  • I've been happily married for seven years and have two amazing children. My son, who is my oldest, is one of the most passionate kids I've ever seen, and my daughter is a literal miracle. She had all of the odds stacked against her at birth, but she's a fighter, through and through.

  • When I'm not going through the Springboard curriculum or spending time with my family, I watch a lot of Ultraman for my podcast , and I also handle communications for the parish we attend.

That's it! Looking forward to getting to know more of y'all.